Thorac Cardiovasc Surg 2017; 65(S 03): S145-S146
DOI: 10.1055/s-0037-1600920
Georg Thieme Verlag KG Stuttgart · New York

Friedrich Mohr: The 20th President of the German Society for Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery—A Tribute

Friedhelm Beyersdorf
1  Department of Cardiovascular Surgery, Heart Center Freiburg University, Freiburg, Germany
Armin Welz
2  Department of Cardiac Surgery, University Bonn, Bonn, Germany
› Author Affiliations
Further Information

Publication History

Publication Date:
07 April 2017 (online)

Friedrich Mohr has played a major role in the evolution of cardiac surgery in Germany over many decades. In October 1994 he was appointed Chairman of the Department of Cardiac Surgery at the newly founded Leipzig Heart Institute. His tireless dedication over the past 23 years has resulted in this becoming a world-class surgical institution. His national and international reputation is reflected by the many honorary awards, prizes, and positions he has held over the years, for example bestowal of The Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2010, appointment as the President of the European Society of Cardio-Thoracic Surgery (EACTS) in 2015, and as the President of the German Society of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery, to name but a few.

In 2009, he was elected the in-coming President of the German Society for Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery (DGTHG) (“1. Vize-Präsident”) and thus served as President from 2011 through 2013, followed by the period as Past-President (“2. Vize-Präsident”) from 2013 through 2015. In the following paragraphs, a few of the most important milestones during his DGTHG presidency are mentioned.


Friedhelm Beyersdorf served as President of the DGTHG 2009–2011. Armin Welz served as President of the DGTHG 2015–2017.