Semin Thromb Hemost 2019; 45(03): 215-224
DOI: 10.1055/s-0039-1683841
Thieme Medical Publishers 333 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001, USA.

2019 Eberhard F. Mammen Award Announcements: Part I—Most Popular Articles

Emmanuel J. Favaloro
1  Department of Haematology, Institute of Clinical Pathology and Medical Research (ICPMR), Westmead Hospital, Westmead, Australia
› Author Affiliations
Further Information

Publication History

Publication Date:
03 April 2019 (online)

Welcome to the latest of our Eberhard F. Mammen award announcements. As noted previously,[1] [2] [3] Thieme, the publisher of Seminars in Thrombosis & Hemostasis (STH), has created the “Eberhard F. Mammen Excellence in Thrombosis and Hemostasis Awards” in honor of Eberhard Mammen ([Fig. 1]), and in recognition of his contribution to this field and to the journal that he both founded and steered for over three decades. These awards began in 2009, under two categories, “Most Popular Article Awards” and “Young Investigator Awards.” Accordingly, 2019 marks a 10-year anniversary of sorts. Current details and conditions of the award can be summarized as:

Zoom Image
Fig. 1 Eberhard F. Mammen (1930–2008).
  • Most popular article awards: Awarded to the authors of the most popular articles published in STH. The awards are determined by the Editor in Chief on the basis of user statistics from Thieme e-Journals from the preceding 2 years. Prefaces, Errata, Letters to the Editor, Editorials, and previous award winning articles are excluded from further consideration of these awards, which currently comprise of two categories—one for “Open Access” articles, and another for a “General Category.” There are two major cash prizes of US$1,000 for each category. In addition, winners of the “General Category” awards are granted “open access” status for these articles thereafter.

  • Young investigator awards: Best presentation or meeting abstract by a young investigator—as presented or delivered to an international or large regional meeting on a topic related to the fields of thrombosis and hemostasis, and whose subject matter is determined to be in the spirit of Dr. Mammen. Up to six cash prizes of US$1,000 in any year. There are some additional considerations and conditions for the award, and awardees are expected to prepare a review or other paper related to the topic of their presentation (or as otherwise agreed) for publication in STH. In general, previous award winners are excluded from a second award to enable more individuals to be recognized. After nominations are received, the awardees are selected by a vote of the Senior Editors of STH. Any potential conflicts of interest are managed by first identifying these, and then excluding those with potential conflicts from voting.

Further details of the awards and the award winners are posted online (<>), and previous award winner announcements are also available in print.[4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19]

It is therefore with great pleasure that we would like to announce the latest winners of the 2019 Eberhard F. Mammen awards for the most popular articles from STH for the period of 2017 to 2018 inclusive. We will be announcing the 2019 Young Investigator Awards at a forthcoming opportunity.