Homeopathy 2011; 100(03): 198
DOI: 10.1016/j.homp.2011.03.004
Copyright © The Faculty of Homeopathy 2011

Dhan Prakash Rastogi: 8 May 1939–15 December 2010

Raj K Manchanda
Chaturbhuja Nayak

Subject Editor:
Further Information

Publication History

Publication Date:
20 December 2017 (online)

Zoom Image

The homeopathic community felt profound grief at the sudden death of Professor Dr Dhan Prakash Rastogi; homeopathic physician, teacher and researcher on 15 December 2010.

Dr Rastogi was born on 8th May 1939 in Bijnor district of Uttar Pradesh, India. He was a graduate from the Calcutta Homoeopathic Medical College, Kolkata with a Gold Medal and did his Post Graduate Diploma (DF Hom.) at the Royal London Homoeopathic Hospital, U.K. in 1962. He also did a Post Graduate Course at Glasgow Homoeopathic Hospital and M.D. (Hom.) from Sri Sainath P.G. Institute of Homoeopathy, Allahabad. Dr Rastogi started working as a homoeopathic doctor in Rajasthan State Govt. in 1963.

As Assistant Advisor (Homoeopathy) to Government of India he contributed significantly in the formulation of Homoeopathic Central Council Act 1973, introduction of Homeopathy in Drug and Cosmetic Act, publication of Homoeopathic Pharmacopoeia of India, establishment of Homoeopathic Pharmacopoeia Laboratory and National Institute of Homoeopathy at Kolkata. He was Principal of Nehru Homoeopathic Medical College and Hospital, New Delhi from 1975 to 1984, and organising secretary of International Congress of LIGA held at New Delhi in 1977. He served as Homoeopathic Physician to the President of India (1988–1992).

He was Director of Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH), New Delhi from 1984 to 1999, establishing 52 Institutes/Units all over the country to conduct research activities. He actively monitored research studies on topics including HIV/AIDS, filaria, malaria, bronchial asthma, sickle cell anaemia, diabetes mellitus, sinusitis, malignant diseases, drug addiction conducted at various centres. He was also the Secretary of Homoeopathic Pharmacopoeia Committee. He was a member of Editorial advisory Board of Indian journal of Research in Homoeopathy (IJRH) and of this journal.

He was passionate about teaching and was visiting Professor at several Indian universities. He continued teaching at the Nehru Homoeopathic College and the Dr B.R. Sur Homoeopathic Medical College and Research Centre and Bakson Homoeopathic Medical college until his death. Even after his retirement, he actively participated in different activities including reviewing research studies as external referee. He was an author of more than 60 research papers published in national and international journals and of five books, including ‘Golden Tips by Masters’, ‘Use of Indigenous Drugs as Common Remedies’, ‘An Overview of Repertories for postgraduate students’.

He was honoured with numerous awards including the Hahnemann Award in 1995, Dhanwantri Award in 1997, Hahnemann Memorial Award in 2002, Dr Sahani Memorial Award and Pareek Foundation Award in 2003 and the Life Time Achievement Award in 2008. The Homoeopathic Medical Association of India dedicated the National congress held in New Delhi on 18–19th December 2010 to his memory. His contribution to the association was remembered with great reverence. He was a great ambassador for Indian Homeopathy who will be sadly missed.